Sailing club hosts annual prize-giving

LYME Regis Sailing Club hosted its annual dinner and prize-giving on Saturday night.

The event was held at Lyme Regis Golf Club, where 70 guests were greeted by retiring Commodore Jerry Rook and his wife Pauline.

Following an excellent meal, the Commodore spoke of the main highlights of members’ successes on the national and international scene in 2019, paid tribute to Colin and Eileen Walters who have contributed so much to the club but are moving to be nearer their family.

He also thanked Pauline and all who had supported him during his five years in office.

Flowers were presented later to Pauline, Fern Cottis who arranged the evening, and Di Mattock who assisted. MC was Rear Commodore Alan Cottis. Both he and the incoming Commodore Jeremy Wallace, thanked Jerry for the improvements achieved while he was at the helm, particularly with regard to youth race training.

Sailing secretary (racing) Cameron Moss presented the trophies to the dinghy section, assisted by Simon Boyle. There are a mixture of individual cups and series races giving a good range of opportunities for competition. Twenty-nine helms in all collected awards, with Guy Woodhouse (K1) winning six series and two cup races, and national champion Laser Grand Masters sailor Mike Pridham taking two series and three trophies.

The Seamanship Trophy was won by Hugh Duncan and the Commodores Pursuit Cup by Crispin Read-Wilson. Coin Walters, crewed by young Simon Law, took the Albacore Super Series, and Jerry Rook the remaining three dedicated Albacore trophies, crewed by either his wife, Pauline, Jake Stow or youth member Ferdy Parry-Leyshon.

The final race of the season saw Cameron Moss and Jake Stow take the honours, the Prescott Trophy and Hat.

Awarded trophies went to Jim Thomas for persistence, Improver’s Lantern to Stephan Laeger, Holman Trophy for race management to Chris Turner.

The 11 cruiser trophies were presented by Rob Walker, their sailing secretary, the predominant winners being Peter Thomas and Rob Wiscombe and their crews. Rob and Sharyn Walker took two series cups, while Rob and Margaret Wiscombe claimed four cups including the Mike Pitt Memorial and Metaphysical Wine Bottle.

The John Lee Trophy (long distance passage) was awarded to Mike Diffin who cruised from Sicily back to Lyme, and the Alan Pugh Trophy (enjoyment) to Jeremy and Sharon Wallace.

Dancing to DJ Kathy concluded a convivial evening for members, who thanked their hosts and the golf club staff.

Winter racing continued on Sunday morning, followed by the cruiser forum in the afternoon at which the 2020 calendar was planned. The cruiser section continues to welcome new members although limited by the availability of moorings for bigger yachts.

The dinghy forum was held two weeks ago, the programme for 2020 being the focus of attention as renewals become due at the beginning of December and the club looks forward to the sailing season starting in the spring.

Details of membership, sailing and social facilities can be found on the club website,

JOIN OUR MAILING LISTStay up to date with all the news from Lyme Regis, Uplyme & Charmouth by signing up to our regular newsletter.

View our privacy policy.

Woodmead Halls

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


15 − 11 =