Seasiders celebrate successful season at awards night

The Reserves celebrate winning the Football Express Cup with Mervyn Joslin of the Devon & Exeter League

LYME Regis Football Club celebrated another successful season at its annual presentation night last Saturday.

Making the most of its improved facilities, the club opted to host the event at its own clubhouse this year, with about 80 guests enjoying a sumptuous three-course dinner in a marquee on the pitch, prepared by Fossil Food Catering in the club’s new kitchen extension.

Speeches were made by the Mayor of Lyme Regis, Councillor Michaela Ellis, who congratulated the Seasiders on their season’s successes, club chairman Howard Larcombe; Richard White, secretary of the Perry Street League; and retired referee Bob Hall.

Trophies were then presented, with minutes secretary and fundraiser Francesca Evans receiving the Jack Loveridge Trophy for Clubperson of the Year, presented by life-member Les Loveridge.

Cody Bowditch received the Young Player of the Year award and Steve Batey, who was heading up the kitchen staff preparing the dinner, was named Top Scorer.

Other awards were as follows: First Team Manager’s Player – Kingsley Wellman; First Team Players’ Player – Fred Parsons; Reserves Manager’s Player – Will Meech; Reserves Players’ Player – Jake Bearpark; Rovers Manager’s Player – Matt Preece; Rovers Players’ Player – Darius Pickering.

Bouquets of flowers were also presented to special guests, including the mayor, Ruth Sommerville representing Tesco Express in Lyme Regis, which regularly donates food to the club, and Louise White from the Perry Street League, as well as club committee members and helpers – Heather Larcombe, Andrea Budden, Nicky Levan, Francesca Evans, Jackie Evans, Fiona Blackmore, Patsy Neale and Lin Paterson.

For more pictures from Lyme Regis Football Club’s presentation night, see our Photo Gallery

Woodmead Halls
About Francesca Evans 2546 Articles
Francesca grew up in Lyme Regis and has worked in community journalism in the area since 2011, having gained a First Class Honours degree in journalism and her NCTJ qualifications at Southampton Solent University.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.