Parish council seeks to co-op four new members


DESPITE an impassioned plea at the annual parish meeting from chairman Peter Noel for Charmouth residents to join the council rather than criticising on the sidelines, only seven nominations were received for the 11 seats at the recent election.

The council is now seeking to co-op new members by submitting applications for those interested in serving to be considered at the next full meeting on July 23. Those wishing to do so should submit their applications to the clerk, Lisa Tuck, at The Elms Council Offices.

At this week’s meeting, Mr Noel was re-elected as chairman for a fourth term with Councillor Paul Oatway at vice-chairman. Councillor Noel will also chair the finance and general purposes committee and Councillor Oatway will head up the human resources committee.

Three other committee chairman were elected – Judith Sheppard (foreshore), Martin Sayers (playing field, cemetery and street management) and Kay Solomon (planning).

Lyme Regis Town Council and Uplyme Parish Council are also seeking interest from those willing to serve as councillors, following the resignation of Cheryl Reynolds in Lyme and Barbara Kidson in Uplyme. Details on how to apply to be a councillor for these two authorities can be found on our Public Notices page.

JOIN OUR MAILING LISTStay up to date with all the news from Lyme Regis, Uplyme & Charmouth by signing up to our regular newsletter.

View our privacy policy.

Woodmead Halls

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


7 − four =