Lyme’s last skittle alley closes for short period as Ship Inn gets refurbished

skittlesTHE Ship inn in Lyme Regis has closed its doors for refurbishment, hopefully for a short time,  but it means the Skittles League has lost Lyme’s only alley in the immediate future.

The committee met last week to view a temporary alley, but it was decided this would not be practical for every night usage.

League officials are calling for understanding from players because they have to rearrange fixtures for ten sides on the remaining three alleys.

“We know and appreciate teams will be playing nights and venues not suitable, but on a short term we ask you to help us keep the games played,” said league spokesperson Jenni West.

“We would like to thank the George in Charmouth for offering extra nights, along with Rousdon Club who will be opening extra evenings to accommodate some games and  Wootton Club who also will open a extra night to cover fixtures.

Revised fixtures, some fixtures remain as in the book:

Monday, November 4.

Ladies George nomination.

Generations v Wootton Wobblers at Wootton

Pin Pals v La Crème at the George.

Hot Gossips and Skittso’s have byes.

Division 2 Curtis Cup, Division 1 George Nomination cups

Tuesday, November 5

Wreckers v Anthill Mob at Wootton

Young Guns v Presidents Men at the George

Skittle me Timbers v Alleytwits at Rousdon

Wednesday, November 6

Clueless v Trappers at the George

Thursday 7th November

Miscellaneous v Shakers at the George

Friday, November 8

Marksmen v Roadrunners at the George

Rousdon Rebels v No Hopers at Rousdon

Flyers v British Legion at Wootton

Monday, November 11

Ladies Doug Clark

Wootton Wobblers v Skitto’s at Wootton

Generations v La Crème at the George

Hot Gossips and Pin Pals have byes.

Tuesday, November 12

Cornish Cup

No Hopers v Alleytwits (back match) at Wootton

Miscellaneous or Presidents Men v Rousdon Rebels at the George

Wednesday, November 13

Marksmen v Clueless at the George

Friday, November 15

Young Guns v Flyers or Anthill Mob at Wootton

No Hopers or Alleytwits v Roadrunners at the George

Monday, November 18

Ladies Pairs

As in Fixture book

The George and Wootton.

Tuesday, November 19

MENS PAIRS FOR THOSE THATERE FIXTURED AT THE SHIP.

NOW to play at Wootton club.

Friday, November 22

Men’s Pairs

As in Fixture book

The George ,Wootton and Rousdon

League games

Monday,  November 25

Generations v Pin Pals at Wootton

La Crème v Hot Gossips at the George

Tuesday, November 26

Skittle Me Timbers v Alleytwits at the George

Trappers v Clueless at Wootton

Wednesday, November 27

Shakers v Presidents Men at the George

Thursday, November 28

Skittso’s v Wootton Wobblers at the George

Friday, November 29

Anthill Mob v Marksmen at Wootton

Roadrunners v Wreckers at the George

Rousdon Rebels v Flyers at Rousdon

Saturday, November 30

No Hopers v British Legion at the George

Miscellaneous v Young Guns at the Wootton

 

**************

 

Tuesday 3rd December

Wreckers v Anthill Mob at Wootton

Presidents Men v Trappers at the George

British Legion V Rousdon Rebels at Rousdon

 

Wednesday 4th December

Clueless v Skittle Me Timbers at the George

 

Thursday 5th December

Young Guns v Shakers

 

Friday 6th December

Alleytwits v Miscellaneous at Rousdon

Flyers v Roadrunners at Wootton

Marksmen v No Hopers at the George

Monday, December 9

Generations v La Crème at the George

Wootton Wobblers v Hot Gossips at Wootton

Tuesday, December 10

Skittle Me Timbers v Trappers at the George

No Hopers v Anthill Mob at Wootton

Wednesday, December 11

Roadrunners v British Legion at the George

Thursday, December 12

Pin pals v Skittso,s at the George

Miscellaneous v Clueless at Rousdon

Friday, December 13

Flyers v Wreckers at Wootton

Rousdon Rebels v Marksmen at Rousdon

Shakers v Alleytwits at the George

Monday, December

Young Guns v Presidents Men at the George

Friday, December 19

Men’s Palmers cup

Woodmead Halls
About Philip Evans 571 Articles
Veteran journalist and newspaper manager Philip Evans has worked in the publishing industry for more than half a century. He started out as a reporter for Pulman’s Weekly News as a young man and went on to work for an international publishing company in the UK, South Africa and Australia before returning to Lyme Regis where he is still reporting on local events as he has done for more than 53 years.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


*